Oregon DMV and Ignition Interlocks

If you get arrested for drunk driving in the state of Oregon, you’ll have two separate things to take care of: The Oregon DUI criminal court case, and the Oregon DMV case. The cases are totally separate and distinct; what happens in one generally has no impact on what happens in the other. But Smart Start of Oregon can be an easy solution to both of your problems – because both types of cases can require you to get an Oregon ignition interlock device.

Most people know that a court can order you to install one as part of a criminal DUI case. But did you know that the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles offers an opportunity for you to regain your driving privileges if you have an ignition interlock device installed in your car? The ignition interlock device must be from an approved provider, such as Smart Start of Oregon, and must be calibrated at least every 60 days.

That requirement is easy with Smart Start of Oregon’s many convenient locations. We service your Oregon Smart Start interlock quickly each and every month, so you don’t have to change your entire schedule just to fit us in.

Please call us for an appointment if you qualify to receive a Oregon driver’s license on the condition that you install an Oregon Smart Start interlock in your car. Generally, if you have completed at least half of your drunk driving suspension or revocation, and your last drunk driving violation occurred July 1, 1999, or later, you may qualify for a restricted license if you meet these requirements:

  • Install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle and provide DMV with a Verification of Installation form (DL 920).
  • Clear all other outstanding suspensions or revocations on your driving record.
  • Comply with a drinking driver program’s requirements and have the program provider submit either a Proof of Enrollment form (DL 107) or Notice of Completion form (DL 101) to DMV (whichever applies to your case).
  • Submit an SR 22 form establishing proof of financial responsibility issued by your auto insurance company to DMV.
  • Pay all required fees, including the $15 ignition interlock device restriction fee.

NOTE: Call DMV at (916) 657-6525 for eligibility information, or simply call Smart Start of Oregon, and we would be glad to help you out. We can be reached toll-free, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, at 1-888-368-2889.

All required forms and fees may be submitted to any local Department of Motor Vehicles office.

Smart Start of Oregon is one of the few licensed ignition interlock providers in Oregon, and is the cheapest, easiest choice to help you comply with interlock laws, get your driver’s license back, and keep your auto insurance.

Please call on us today to see if an Oregon Smart Start interlock device can help you get your driver’s license back and get you back on the road. Call us anytime, day or night, and we will be happy to help: 1-888-368-2889.

Request an Appointment

To use CAPTCHA, you need Really Simple CAPTCHA plugin installed.

Go Top